Bad Flick

Ugh. Just watched The Chamber for the first time since I saw it in theatres back in 1996. I was a fan of John Grisham, with his naive, sincere young-lawyer-fighting-for-good-against-all-odds template that served him so well. His stories weren’t high literature, but they were entertaining, and they got me through many nights while treeplanting or serving some other banal summer job while I struggled through university.

But, boy oh boy, is this show awful. I remember Chris O’Donnell had so much promise ever since he starred in Dead Poet’s Society.

(What’s that you say? That was Ethan Hawke in DPS? Oh. Same difference.)

Not even the great Gene Hackman could prevent this boring, melodramatic, earnest, predictable story.

So … yeah. Crappy movie.

That’s all I have to say about that.

